Jump to main content

Section 1413 of the Safe Drinking Water Act allows EPA to award primary enforcement responsibility (i.e., primacy) for the Public Water System Supervision (PWSS) program to states and tribes. Which states and tribes have primacy for the PWSS program?

Currently, all states have primacy for the PWSS program except Wyoming and Washington, D.C. The Navajo Nation is the only tribe that has obtained primacy for the PWSS program. Additional information about primacy for the PWSS program is available at http://water.epa.gov/infrastructure/drinkingwater/pws/primacy.cfm. Information regarding tribes and the PWSS program is available at http://water.epa.gov/aboutow/ogwdw/tribal.cfm.
Rating:Rating of 3 Stars90 Votes
Was this answer helpful?YesNo

Frequent Questions

Topic Information
  • Topic #: 23002-24594
  • Date Created: 06:23:2005
  • Last Modified Since: 10:12:2010
  • Viewed: 6208

Jump to main content.